Run For Your Life! (or Just for Fun)

So, you’ll never believe this, but I have found a new passion. Running. Yep, you read that right, running. I didn’t do cross-country last year because I was doing volleyball at the time. At the end of school last year, I went to this cross-country meeting and I was like, “Uhh, … There’s no way i can run cross-country.” I practiced a little during the summer, but not enough to really count–unless you consider rollerblading as running practice. I think it helped me learn how to breathe when doing an anaerobic exercise (such as running, swimming, etc.). The first day of practice, I was like, “I hope I don’t kill myself today while I’m running!” During practice, I was feeling great! I asked Coach how far we ran and wallaboom-wallabang, we ran 3 miles! I guess you could say that I’ve found a new niche. I love running! I love the feeling of the blood running through my veins after I’m done with my run. Plus, you can socialize while you run, or as Coach says, “Run at a conversation pace.”  Haha! The meets are my favorite part, because that’s when your training really shows and you get to always try to beat your own personal best time. It feels really good to beat a huge number of people, and to pass people along the way. It makes you push yourself harder. When we run our meets, they are on the golf courses of country clubs. And that rocks! The downside; there are no restrooms, so you have to go in a Port-O-Pottie. ICK! It’s not so bad, I guess, as long as there’s not pee on the seat… D-:

My family thinks it’s really cool that I am in Cross-Country. I think it’s pretty cool too! I love our coach ’cause she’s made me love running. Plus, some of my friends are on my team too, so I can hang out with them when I run. Sometimes there are 3 other teachers that run with us at practice, so we can spread out because there are more eyes supervising us than just Coach’s. Then, I can just think while I’m running. Tip: If you’re ever frustrated with something, you should go running. It helps, believe me. You can burn all of your energy and anger out and then when you’re done running, you just take a little nap because you’re tired and then you feel better! Try it sometime! It works. 

Here’s a story from the other day at practice:

So, we went to a park called Chautauqua Park to play “Capture the Flag”. (Which my team lost at. 😦 ) But anyway, I was feeling daring and sneaky, so I slunk into the trees looking for the other team’s flag when this kid (Nathan) starts running after me because, obviously, I’m close to their flag. He’s a little slower than me so I figure I can outrun him. “Uh, Lindsey (me), you should rethink that,” my conscience was saying. I thought I was going to escape unscathed when all of a sudden, out of the blue, Chloe comes running after me at a dead sprint. I try to escape her swift attack by running down this small hill, but the ground is wet, and I’m running for my life, so my feet decide to slip out from underneath me. I then tumble head over heels and do a 720 degree turn, fly through the air, and skid to a halt. I think I did a flip! I couldn’t help but laugh! It was fun! I bet that move could have been in an action movie! 😀 I then get up and go to the other team’s jail, laughing the whole way. I just about had the other team’s flag, too, because a few minutes later, our team’s flag was discovered, and they had to show us where their flag was. Which was practically a tree away from where I had my graceful fall. Haha, don’t you just want to laugh at life sometimes? I know I do!

Well, that’s all for now! ThAnKs FoR rEaDiNg!

LinLaB7 🙂

2 Comments

  1. really great post linds! very thoughtful and well-spoken. The new theme looks great by the way, but i prefer the old one. Do what you want with it though, it IS your blog in the end to do what you want with! I’m glad you updated, it’s been a while.

Leave a Reply

