Weekly Poem: Poem 1

As I remember

you,

you are there.

 

As I search for 

you,

your name is there.

 

As I seek to find

you, 

your shadow has been cast away

 

As I sit waiting for

you,

the wind is all who greets me

 

As I call your name,

you

do not respond, but the leaves rattle.

 

As the tears roll down my cheeks,

I

am soothed by the birds’ songs

 

I am moved with awe as

watch the clouds tell a story.

 

When you left, 

I

feared I would forget.

 

Now that you are gone, I am reminded of

you

everywhere I look.

 

You

are not gone.

 

You 

live here.

 

–Lindsey LaBrie

11 thoughts on “Weekly Poem: Poem 1

  1. Dylan says:

    I started writing poems when my grandfather died. It was a hard time in my life because I loved him. I stopped writing them but I still have a few. HERE I one that I liked (its a little sad thou). I like yours thou, it has a Robert Frost quality to it. Hoping to see more 🙂

    • Dylan says:

      LOL you guys, I think it was more pointed towards death. The person is “GONE”, I could be wrong but I do not believe it has anything to do with love. You may be asking what about the “you love here” part, well you live in are hearts. I hope I am right, otherwise I have misunderstood the meaning of the poem. I guess the only way to know is to wait fro Lindsey reply’s.

      • Dylan says:

        That one part should say “you live here” not love here, typo. (You have to hate netbook keyboards)

      • Dylan says:

        Ok then, it is about death. I thought it was because every poem (well most of them) I have read that is about death has a subtle rhyming to it, but still not every sentence is rhyming. Also its quite deep for a made up death. When I wrote poetry (again don’t do it anymore brings up bad memory’s) I would have to think just about the subject I was writing about. So are all your weekly poems going to be posted on Friday or just when they come to mind ?

    • Dylan says:

      Ok a little hint, When something comes to mind write a note about it. Thats what I have to do for my made my day things. Then you will remember to write it, most of my made my day things made my day 1-4 days ago. SO if you have a poem in your head just write it down so you don’t forget, it makes it a lot easier to keep up with deadlines.

Leave a Reply

