Fad vs. Trend

According to dictionary.reference.com, a fad is quote

fad

noun

a temporary fashion, notion, manner of conduct, etc., especially
one followed enthusiastically by a group.
Now, skateboarding was once a fad, but now is a trend

trend

noun

1.

the general course or prevailing tendency; drift: trends in
the teaching of foreign languages; the trend of events.
2.

style or vogue: the new trend in women’s apparel.

pre·vail

verb (used without object)

1.

to be widespread or current; exist everywhere or generally:
Silence prevailed along the funeral route.
2.

to appear or occur as the more important or frequent
feature or element; predominate: Green tints prevail in the
upholstery.
3.

to be or prove superior in strength, power, or influence
(usually followed by over) : They prevailed over their
enemies in the battle.
4.

to succeed; become dominant; win out: to wish that the
right side might prevail.
Now skateboarding is not a fad, because it has been around for 60 years. Meaning it is a trend. Click http://skatoramps.com/stuff/history.html to read about it.
(It basically says that skateboarding has been around a long time and has survived the speed bumps that different generations have thrown its way.)
Arguments, ready.
–LinLaB7
8 thoughts on “Fad vs. Trend

  1. Dylan says:

    Very good, I have been beaten. (Well that was fun wasn’t it ?) I agree but must say that dictionary.reference.com is not the best source. (Let me put it this way, if I wanted to I could overload there server by writing a script to send them millions of emails. From there I could view there php code as the servers reboot, grab a few passwords of the administrators and edit anything that I want. So know one knows who I am tunnel throw there using ssh and delete the log of my IP. I would not do that and I doubt it has happened but it is a feasible Idea ) I have the Oxford English Dictionary (Comes with a magnifying glass !!!) and according to oxford the definition is “an intense and widely shared enthusiasm for something, especially one that is short-lived; a craze:” it does not say it HAS to be short lived but that it can be short lived. So it is still a fad, I will continue to call it one. I respect your opinion and agree that you have won, i am simple voicing my opinion. I will also like to add that I never said I dislike skateboarding I consider it a sport, but like all sports they have been abused by mainstream society. It is now a way to become popular, and to make people like you. Anyone who skateboard’s for fun, something to do, exercise, etc.. is ok in my book. Its people who do it to become popular or for other self centered purposes that i disagree with. So lets review, you win but I still say that skateboarding is a fad. I hope we have settled this argument and that it is over and done with. 🙂

Leave a Reply

