Weekly Poem, 2 Days Late

This is my 3rd weekly poem. I wrote this one myself a few days ago. Enjoy!

 

Hope

On the outside, you look ripe.

On the inside, however, you are rotting away.

You find it is hard to stay ripe after someone takes a bite of you,

because then, your skin turns brown.

Bugs start eating you.

Eventually, you rot away to just 

a seed.

That one lonely seed is hope.

Hope that, in the spring, you will grow.

Hope that rabbits won’t eat you when you become a sapling–a whole new tree.

Hope that you will be nurtured and cared for.

Hope. Just plain hope.

Hope can kill or carry you on.

It can help you find a better way,

But what hope cannot do is make you grow.

You grow if the conditions are right.

Hope is…

Just hope.

You can’t solely rely on hope.

You rely on you.

You cannot hope to be something different–

If you are a tree it would be a waste of time to wish to be a fish–

but grow by water,

and you can enjoy a fish’s company.

Trees lose their leaves in the fall,

but come back in the spring–as does all new life.

But hope, hope will always

be 

there.

A seed. 

That one lonely seed is hope.

–Lindsey LaBrie

The whole thing is sort of symbolism. Tell me what you think it means!

LinLaB7 🙂

14 thoughts on “Weekly Poem, 2 Days Late

  1. Dylan says:

    I am thinking that it means hope is always there (I know that what you said but wait), even when it’s looks like it’s gone. I think this because you talk about hope (a apple ?) rotting away but then it turns into a tree. So it was a new hope (Star wars moment) in the death of a other hope. But it’s a poem it could just mean that food rots so eat it fast before its gone. (I highly doubt that thou.)

    P.S. – Good poem, the word’s are raw but they still have meaning. It’s hard to write poem’s that don’t use complex word’s (a poem is about relaxing not thinking [or as it’s know by some people googling ;-)] ).

    • Andy says:

      I could be a pear or an orange or a coconut or even a banana not just an apple but you can picture it however you want anyways I really am not inspired by any poems but more from quotes to me they have a lot more meaning.

      • Dylan says:

        Pear yes but oranges, coconuts, and bananas don’t have seeds. So how could it be those if her fruit has a seed, I was just guessing on what it could be. I thought it was an apple but I could also see it as a pear, I just don’t eat a lot of whole pears. (I Have canned [pears] from time to time but it’s not my favorite fruit, that would be the watermelon. 92% water and 8% sugar, how could you not like the watermelon. On hot summer days it’s like walking into a cooler [that’s not cold at all ;-)] after running around outside.)

        P.S. – I think I just got hungry.

    • Dylan says:

      True but not the type of seed’s we think of, the seeds I am talking about are the rock hard seed’s that you can’t eat. Sorry for not being specific, I just didn’t say what I mean. Ok lets try this again.

      “Pear yes but oranges, coconuts, and bananas don’t have seeds. (Well the type of seeds that I am think off, the hard seed of an apple or pear. Were as a coconut is a seed, and oranges/banana’s have seeds that we can eat. Plus the fruit is rotting away and brown skin that would not work for an coconut. I have never seen a rotten orange (who lets an orange rot ?) and banana’s turn black.) So how could it be those if her fruit has a seed, I was just guessing on what it could be. I thought it was an apple but I could also see it as a pear, I just don’t eat a lot of whole pears. (I Have canned [pears] from time to time but it’s not my favorite fruit, that would be the watermelon. 92% water and 8% sugar, how could you not like the watermelon. On hot summer days it’s like walking into a cooler [that’s not cold at all 😉 ] after running around outside.)

      P.S. – I think I just got hungry.”

      P.S. – I think I just got hungrier.

      Now again I am sorry for not elaborating I just typed it out and it sounded good to me but I left out a part, it’s in there now thou. Also what do you mean you don’t like free verse, you are entitled to your opinion but I wanted to know what your favorite is then? I just want to know, let me clarify I AM NOT SAYING THAT FREE VERSE IS BETTER THAT’S AN OPINION I JUST WANTED TO KNOW WHAT YOU LIKE. I am not insulting you and I hope you understand.

      • alexkleinjan says:

        It’s just a personal thing, I hate it when my poems don’t have rhythm. I’m fine with traditional poems that rhyme and have set stanzas and forms and all that.

      • Dylan says:

        Ok, i get it now. I thought it was more like some stupid think. (“If they don’t rhyme there not poems >:-( “) I can deal with you not liking them, but If you were one of THOSE people who think poems have to rhyme I would be mad.

    • Dylan says:

      Thanks, I was thinking apple because it’s the fruit you think of when you talk about seeds and trees. Plus who doesn’t love an apple, they taste good plus “an apple a day keeps the doctor away”.

      • Andy says:

        Your welcome, because would you really think about any thing but a apple. The only reason I thought of different fruits is because I like to expand on the usual and typical choice.

      • Dylan says:

        It’s a poem, not a Mensa quiz. I get that you were think out of the box,

        ■ 🙂

        but the box is pretty narrow “On the outside, you look ripe. On the inside, however, you are rotting away. You find it is hard to stay ripe after someone takes a bite of you, because then, your skin turns brown. Bugs start eating you. Eventually, you rot away to just a seed.”. Like I said a pear would work but a apple is the obvious choice and thats what most people would think of. I have never seen orange, banana, or a coconut rot into just a seed. So Please can we drop this know, I agree a pear would work, but the others are way out there.

        . < the box

        🙂 < You

        We now know that it is an Apple, lets drop the subject and be on are marry way.

        P.S. – I typed all that with British accent. 😉

        P.P.S – My point is go with your first choice, it's most likely right.

Leave a Reply

