Phantom Poem

Ok, since I clearly cannot keep up my Friday’s weekly poems, I’m going to move them to Saturday. This week’s poem was inspired by a book called “The Phantom of the Opera” I’m sure you’ve heard of it, but never had the gusto to read it. Lemme tell you, it’s way different than the movie.

I am Erik.

I stalk the halls at night,

and sometimes when you see me,

I fill your heart with fright.

A fright so awe-inspiring,

I woo you to your death,

and when you take my mask off,

you see my head of death.

A curse been set upon me,

which is sad I must confess,

for my love is mortal,

and she loves a mortal lad no less.

I sing with her at midnight,

she sings back, eyes set with blazing fire of passion,

yet she loves the mortal,

I can see it in her eyes.

I take her to my abode,

the lake under the Opera,

and she tries to run in fear,

but I manage to stop her.

“Horror!” thrice she screams when her eyes bestow my curse,

she took off my mask,

and beneath she witnessed Death’s head on a skeleton of a body.

Why? I ask

My anger raging even more,

I sit upon my organ,

and play my Don Juan Triumphant with a fire I haven’t before.

and with that, I bid you good evening. Yes, I know, it’s short and it’s not done, but that’s what I wrote so ya.

(I haven’t finished the Phantom of the Opera yet so my poem’s not complete, and it’s based on that book.)

— Lindsey LaBrie (aka, linlab7)

6 Comments

  1. My dad read it to me when I was a little kid, I loved it. I did hate when the father died. The best part for me is when she finds out it was not the Angel of Music who was singing to her but Erik. I don’t know exactly how far into the book you are so I won’t give away anymore, but it is a good book.

    P.S. – I kind of thought of Raoul as an evil character because I always felt bad for Erik the ugly genus. Am I the only one? (My dad never saw it that way he thought that Erik was kind of mad and that Christine needed Raoul. I can see his point [if you don’t know what I am talking about read some more] but Erik only did those things because he loved Christine but she loved Raoul more.)

    P.P.S. – I have never seen the movie, is it good?

    • i dont really like raoul, i’d rather christine fall in love with Erik because he needs a companion. I’m only to the part where the Persian and Raoul are sneaking into Erik’s house to get christine. that’s like page 400 something. Don’t spoil pleeeeaaasssseee!!! it’s suspenseful

Leave a Reply

