Consider the Following

One moment, you’re mad/sad/angry/annoyed so BOOM! you post something on your blog.

Months later, when you have gotten over the issue, it’s still there, and you’ve forgotten you posted it, so it’s pretty much invisible to your own eyes. But not everyone else’s.

People read it. And read it. And read it.

And share it. And comment on it.

And then, it gets blown up bigger than it needed to be.

And then, your fingers get tangled and occupied with your computer and you can’t separate fact from fiction, fighting from fun, and you become confused.

Then, just then your realize that, Hey! This really isn’t an issue is it?!

And you leave it. It’s there forever.

Years later, during job references and background checks, they check your blog/facebook/twitter etc., and find out a lot about you, and maybe some of the stuff they find out is stuff you really don’t want them to behold.

And now, there are laws that say that you have to give employers your facebook login account/info.

And later, they’ll probably want more. (Like your spending records, DNA testing results, etc.)

“SO?! How does this affect me and my harmless (or harmful) posting of things on my blog? It’s not like anyone cares right now.” That’s probably a thought that is going through your mind this very moment.

Well, re-read the last few points I just made and try to think that through in your little noggin.

THE POINTS I am trying to get across are:

1) Don’t be stupid.

2) Don’t post things on your blog/facebook you wouldn’t want your parents/future employers to see.

3) Remember that what you post goes viral in the blink of an eye.

4) Bye.

And that marks the end of my rant.

Good night!

–LinLaB7

4 Comments

  1. I see what you were trying to get across here. But I don’t think any of your subscribers are going to “be stupid”(well, maybe one[we both know who I’m referring to]). Anyway, good post. Keep ’em coming!

    P.S. Could you send me an email as to who this is directed toward? I hope it isn’t me.

    P.P.S. it goes viral? So anything you post gets over a million views instantly? Sorry, but that’s just not true. I’m not sure if that’s what you meant by viral or if you meant something else, but that’s what viral means if you were confused.

  2. ಠ_ಠ Oh god, what have I done. Everyone of my post must be deleted, STAT! Actually I don’t see what really precedented this? I can’t name a single post where there was anything remotely ‘bad’. Sure their are arguments but they are talked out and don’t resort to name calling which shows good problem solving skills. I just don’t see why this post was necessary.

Leave a Reply

