Poem!

Ok, we are writing poems in English class for semester tests, and I decided to post mine here. This is the picture I looked at to write it.

03368r.jpg

Weeping

     On looking at “View in South Carolina”

By Lindsey LaBrie

 

The trees here were swaying,

their branches drooping,

like the heads of my brothers

 

Their limbs were creaking,

speaking softly to me:

“Come here and tell your story”

 

Many men like me come here

to relieve their tears,

sharing grief with the willows

 

Though we were men,

and they were trees,

they sympathized with us

 

They actually listened,

unlike the masters,

who believed they owned us

 

Willows, however,

are owned by no one

 

Willows, however,

receive no lashes,

do no work,

receive all glory

 

With cheeks stained,

I sit ‘neath the grand willows

feeling the breeze

 

Careful to lean forward,

with new scars on my back

screaming punishment

 

This is where I come

to be something

not owned

 

 

This is where I come

to confide in nature,

“I hate this”

 

The sun tells me,

through the weeping willow’s branches,

it is time to return

 

Back to work

Back to life

Back to Hell

Leave a Reply

