To Germany!

To those of you out there who don’t know already, in the late months of last year, I applied for a Congress-Bundestag Youth Exchange Scholarship through a company called Youth for Understanding. What that basically means is that, if I was chosen, I would receive a scholarship which would enable me to live abroad and study at a German high school for the next school year. (For free.) I had an interview at the beginning of the year. Earlier this month, I received an email saying I am accepted to the program! Since then, there have been a whirlwind of papers to fill out, forms to send, and documents to sign. I have two orientations to go to, one in June and one in July. Only two more months and I will be on my way to Germany! And as I write that, I am thinking to myself, “That is not a very long time from now!”

Pretty soon I’ll have to start packing!

I’ll be exposed to a different culture with different lifestyles, traditions, fashion, food, and a whole bunch of other things. I’ll also come back fluent in German. This will open my eyes to different things and for that I am hopeful as well as grateful.

There are probably a plethora of other benefits that I could write here but there are so many things that I will do that I can’t even imagine yet.

All-in-all, I am very thankful and grateful that I am accepted to the program. I’m sure I’ll keep you guys updated on the happenings in Germany. It’s not for two more months, so all you can do, for now, is sit on the edge of your seats until I’m actually there!

–Lindsey LaBrie

Leave a Reply

